Vegan Banana Bread


This is a super simple and hearty banana bread. They key is 4 medium or large super ripe bananas (no less!).

I wanted a way to sneak more protein into our foods so I experimented with adding red lentils and found the perfect amount to add.  This is not fluffy bread- it’s dense, moist, and hearty. Almost like a cake donut but without as much guilt!

The best part of vegan banana bread… sampling the batter with no egg/bacteria worries!

You can also add  a few Tablespoons of milled flax seed for fiber and Omegas.  If you do that – add a few Tablespoons of applesauce or oil to keep it moist.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup red lentils
  • 1 tsp brown sugar or honey
  • 1/2 cup water

In 1 minute increments microwave lentils (stirring often) for 3 minutes to soften them. Add a dash of cinnamon, if desired.  If it seems dry- add water a tsp at a time. I leave mine as-is after this step. However, you could purée the lentils.

  • 4  medium sized (up to 4 1/2) very ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup oil (coconut, olive or sunflower works best)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar (I’ve also used half honey/ half sugar here)
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg, if desired
  • 1 and 1/2 cups wheat flour
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda

Mash bananas. Add oil, vanilla, brown sugar, and softened lentils. Mix dry ingredients in separate bowl, gently fold into wet mixture.

At this point, I usually fold in some milled flax seed.  I also have a habit of adding a few more dashes of cinnamon or a squirt of honey.  I just can’t stop myself!

Bake at 330 degrees for 40-45 minutes, in a greased and floured pan.  I almost prefer mine undercooked (vegan so it’s fine)! Yes, 330 degrees is correct.

I like to enjoy mine with a steaming hot cup of coffee.

Thoughts on this recipe?

Have you ever cooked with lentils in baking before?

Feel free to follow this blog on WordPress or the Genbumom -Pinterest Board. You can also follow me on Twitter for more recipes, craft tutorials, and healthy living tips! #genbumom

img_1437

~ Feel Free to Leave a Comment or Reply ~