Bentonite clay under-arm detox {and face mask} recipe

Why would a busy working mother of two take the time to do an armpit detox?

I was conducting research and prep work for a switch to a non- toxic homemade deodorant.  I wanted to rid my pores of any residual chemicals (aluminum, fragrances, ingredients like dimethicone and preservatives).

Dimethicone is a man made silicon polymer added to products so they ‘slide’ better on the skin. It creates a barrier on the skin.  Dimethicone is found in deodorants, hair conditioners, makeup and products like muscle or pain creams.

‘It traps everything under it—including bacteria, sebum, and impurities—which could lead to increased breakouts and blackheads. The coating action actually prevents the skin from performing its normal activities—like sweating, temperature regulating, sloughing off dead skin cells, etc.’ [3]

The Bentonite Clay will draws out impurities and bring increased circulation to your skin. You may feel a slight tingling when using Bentonite clay, this is normal.

Ion exchange allows ingested bentonite clay to absorb internal contaminants such as toxins, heavy metals and poisons.’  [1]

image

Dry Bentonite Clay

What occurred after just a few days was a pleasant surprise…

I did feel fresher and noticed less odor.  Not that I was that smelly before but it did make a difference. My skin was softer and less itchy and continues to seem healed and fresher. It obviously drew out impurities. My goal was to pit-detox every night for a week, I made it 5 out of 7. Good enough.

I like deodorant and can get away with only that often, but I also like some antiperspirant action. To continue to keep my pits soft and clear of any residue, I’ve been doing this detox once a week.

I know, sweat is natural and our bodies want to sweat out toxins but I sweat enough during Tabata class. On the weekends I am able to get away with only using coconut oil with some essential oils (tea tree, lemon, or lavender mainly), but at work or a night out- it’s a must to have antiperspirant.

(I’ll post on a  homemade deodorant soon that is working perfectly for both my husband and myself).

image

You can imagine the responses when I posted this on my social media.

image  image


Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Calcium Bentonite Clay
  • 1/4- 1/2 cup Organic Apple Cider Vinegar (optional) or distilled water. I use Bragg brand.  You can add more or less vinegar as preferred.
  • 5 drops Lavender essential oil
  • 5 drops Tea Tree essential oil
  • 5 drops Rosemary essential oil

Mix well and apply. Allow to dry for 15-20 minutes and rinse off well by hand or gently with a clean soft washcloth. Refrigerate leftovers.  Do not use metal bowls or utensils when mixing this clay.

You don’t necessarily need to add essential oils, but what I love about essential oils is that you get to play around with them and they are multifunctional. The essential oils are going to provide many benefits.  

‘For instance, researchers from China have recently discovered that lavender essential oil helps your body produce three of your bodies most powerful antioxidants, glutathione, catalase, and SOD within 22 hours of using lavender essential oil!’  Source: DrAxe.com

  • Rosemary is the added bonus oil for it’s fragrance and properties. It contains a-Pinene and eucalyptol.   ‘…α-Pinene is an anti-inflammatory via PGE1,[9] ‘ [2]

(If you don’t have Lavender, Tea Tree, and Rosemary on hand you can substitute the following which are excellent and safe for skin care: Carrot Seed, Geranium, Clary Sage, Helichrysum, Copaiba, Lemon, Orange, or Cedarwood).


Use as a Face Mask

I also use this as a face mask.  It calms any blemishes that are cropping up and stops them from getting worse. It can be used once or twice weekly to tighten and clear pores of excess oil or as an acne spot-treatment.  I always have this amazing rosy glow after using this mask. I immediately put Hemp Oil Serum on after rinsing.


If you have any questions or wish to order Young Living essential oils, you may click on this link here to my affiliate page.  You can also comment or email me at genbumom@gmail.com.  I will respond within 24-48 hours.

image


Note: These comments have not been evaluated by the FDA and are not substitutions or recommendations to treat, cure, or diagnose any diseases. If pregnant, nursing, or if you have any health conditions, please consult your physician prior to use.

Sources:

  1. Lohrey, Jackie. ‘Uses for Bentonite Clay.’  August 16,2013. www.livestrong.com
  2. Wikepedia. ‘Alpha-Pinene.’  Accessed October 2, 2015. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alpha-Pinene
  3. Aragon, Britta. ‘The Truth Behind the Cosmetic Ingredient Dimethicone.’ August 26, 2015. www.franklipman.com

2 thoughts on “Bentonite clay under-arm detox {and face mask} recipe

~ Feel Free to Leave a Comment or Reply ~