Christmas Lanterns & Ornaments {Using Baby Food Jars}

I hoard baby food jars, I can admit this. I have a tote full of them and I keep asking my mom to save me more! It’s a problem. I’ve been saving them since my son ate purees. He is almost 4. It’s a problem.

I’ve made multiple crafts reusing baby food jars, it’s nice knowing I’m not tossing them, but reusing them in crafty ways! I like the Beech Nut jars the best due to their shape. You can also find miniature jars with handles at craft stores or flea markets for typically a dollar or two each.

image

image
The craft wire was from a local Meijer store for $1 per small roll.  They had several colors- gold, red, brown, copper, and blue. The Christmas burlap was from a co-worker. It’s fun trading crafting items with others!

image

I already had a craft paper cutter (for the butterfly cutouts) but you can  free hand cut the shapes also.  I like the unexpected use of butterfly shapes. It’s not a typical holiday icon but that’s why I liked it so much.

You can find cheap battery operated LED lights at craft stores if you are making the lanterns.

You will need:

  • Baby Food Jars
  • Red paint or spray paint (craft paint works well also- use 2 coats)
  • Burlap
  • Craft blocks
  • Craft Paper, holiday napkins, cupcake liners, or wrapping paper
  • Jewelry Wire and Twine (ribbon or yarn works too)
  • Mod Podge
  • Acrylic paint in red, green, or gold/silver shimmer
  • Drill with small bit

Watch the Slideshow and View the Gallery below for the How-To’s:


For Lanterns:

image

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


For Ornaments:

image


To order materials for this project:

Wood Blocks:  Woodpeckers® 50 Pieces 1″ Square Blocks Unfinished Craft Wood Cube Blocks
Wire:  40 Feet of Vine Wrapped Rustic Feel Craft Wire
Christmas Burlap:  Kel-Toy Merry Christmas Black Print Ribbon, 2.5-Inch by 10-Yard, Natural

Lace Burlap: SL crafts 10 Yards Natural Hessian Burlap with Lace Ribbon 2 Inch Wide (White)


I may receive compensation as an Amazon affiliate, this helps me to keep my site running. I do not have access to any of your personal information and this does not affect your prices. I appreciate your support! Happy Crafting!

~ Feel Free to Leave a Comment or Reply ~