The great chemical purge of 2015: part I

A small drama occurred in our home today. I threw money in the trash can. Figuratively speaking, a bottle and tube at a time. One bottle down equals one procedural document I labored meticulously over drafting. Another bottle down- equals one spreadsheet that was from the dark side of Microsoft Excel-hell. You get the picture, I had spent hard-earned money on these products.  I could not keep them in my home any longer, it was time for a purge.

In a bit of irony, I was wearing my new favorite tee featuring Alice and the Queen of Hearts. Want a picture, here you go… I like the angelic aura surrounding the shirt.

image

‘Off with their heads!’

I would like to estimate the value below at about $150 to upwards of $200 and I do not mind. I dislike that I do not feel it’s safe to reuse the bottles. I am unsure what chemicals have done to the plastics, so I had a concern about cross contamination reusing them for new homemade products. I threw out: sunscreens, leave in hair conditioner, shampoo, conditioners, multiple hair serums, face wash, wrinkle cream,  bar soap, hair gel, deodorant, tub and tile cleaner, dry cleaning bag, carpet cleaner, a hand soap refill full of triclosan, and the list continues. Please do not fret as I have replacements.

image

Toxic bath and beauty products

Toxic cleaners

Toxic cleaners

The good news is there are many safe and affordable options at hand.

I have been using some of these items below frequently for the past few years (vinegar in the rinse cycle- who knew?) and some for only a few months (Castile Soaps). I can safely say my mind is made up that all of this works and it’s not necessary to spend an exorbitant amount of  money.

My new  cleaning arsenal includes the following items: Castile Soap, Distilled White Vinegar, Baking Soda, and Essential Oils. That’s it! Simple. Reduces waste. Nontoxic. I’d eat off my kitchen floor after mopping with that Castile soap. Seriously. It smells likes roses down there.

Laundry

Laundry

Young Living Essential Oil Singles and Blends: Amazing quality, in fact, so much I am now an Independent Distributor. I trust their quality and product. There are other high quality products out there, but please do your research on your oils.  They should cost different amounts for different types of oils and not have any added ingredients. Of course, always do a patch test and consult your doctor when using oils! Personally, I have had no issues with any oils.

A few oils that contain beneficial cleaning properties: (Always spot test first) and I learned the hard way (do not put baking soda and vinegar in a bottle and shake).

  • Lemon
  • Peppermint
  • Eucalyptus
  • Tea tree
  • Orange
  • Grapefruit
  • Pine
  • Lavender
image

Young Living Oils for cleaning (Please note oils are best stored in dark class containers, especially citrus oils)

Baking Soda: Enough said

Baking soda

Baking soda

Dr. Bronner’s Castile soap: Laundry, Mopping, Carpet cleaner, Hand soaps, Dish soap, Vegetable rinses…Spray in the air and do a fairy-tap dance. Wait, too much.

Castile Soap- They come in so multiple essential oil infused scents

Castile Soap- They come in multiple essential oil infused scents (Rose, Citrus, Lavender, Peppermint, and unscented)

Feel free to share any cheap and non-toxic cleaning solutions you have found works in your home! I’d love to start swapping stories.

An important message: Toxic chemicals must be disposed of properly.  Most cities or towns will host an annual or semiannual “Tox-Away” day.  Call your local police, fire station, or town hall for a listing of these days.

~ Feel Free to Leave a Comment or Reply ~